The only site that's like all the others

First Day of a New School

‘Room J112. Ah! Here it is!’ It was amazing how I found the class in 5 minutes. If not for the helpful signs on my way here, I would’ve been lost! I knocked on the door and entered. Inside, a sea of faces turned to my direction. ‘Oh crap,’ I muttered, ‘I’m the new kid.’ I walked into the room, avoiding eye contact with anyone and everyone. I used the seat in front… it’s better to kiss up to the teacher early. A shadow was cast upon my table. ‘Hey, I’m Flora!’ I looked up to see a smiling, happy-to-the-extent-of-scary, girl, ‘Welcome to Block 13 of the College of Science!’ Did she just say Block 13? 13? The unlucky number?

I was taken aback by this over-friendliness. I tried producing an answer. Some smartass comment that’ll make her laugh, ‘M-My name’s Christopher…’

‘Hahaha!’ At least I made her laugh… ‘Don’t be so shy!’ She dragged me to her group at the center of the class, ‘Guys, this is Christopher!’

‘Uh, hey. What’s up?’ Just then, the teacher came in and everyone went to their seats. Flora sat next to me. The class droned on, and for two hours I wrote down notes.

After the class, Flora caught up to me while I was on my way to the canteen. She once again dragged me to her friends. ‘Guys, this is Christopher! A student from Dubai.’ They all smiled welcomingly and produced a twinkling of ‘hey’ and ‘hi’ s. ‘So Christopher, what skills do you have?’ asked a guy with a guitar. ‘Ummm well, I play the guitar.’ He beamed, ‘Really? Then play it! Let’s see what you got!’ the whole crowd agreed with low voices and nods.

I was really nervous. I haven’t really played in front of an audience per say. But nevertheless, I took the guitar and check if it was tuned. Then I sang. I didn’t know what the heck happened, but at the end of my performance, everybody cheered! ‘Oh my God! Your voice is amazing!’ said one, ‘You should totally be in a band!’ said another. I couldn’t believe it! My voice good?

The rest of the day I had fun! Hanging with these guys was the coolest thing ever! Out of the thousands in this school, I found a click in just one day! The first day was an amazing experience that I would never forget.

HAHAHAHAHA! I wish. I spent most of the day roaming around, getting lost, and sitting in the corner of the classrooms. But it does make a good story doesn’t it? xD I’ sure in time I’ll make friends and get to know the school, it was only the first day anyway. x)

3 responses

  1. SilverStain

    Oh My God! I totally believed you at first D;

    September 14, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    • xD that was my aim… LOL sorry for the inconvenience xDDD

      September 14, 2010 at 6:48 pm

  2. n8tn

    Niiiiiceeee xD

    September 15, 2010 at 7:51 am

Leave a comment